English flagItalian flagChinese (Simplified) flagPortuguese flagGerman flagFrench flagSpanish flagJapanese flag

2010 Innovators of the Year Award Presented by Virginia Inventors Forum

May 6, 2010 by · Comments Off
Filed under: Business, Inventor & Entrepreneur Updates, Patent Articles 

The Virginia Inventors Forum (VIF) had over thirty (30) submissions from Virginia businesses for the 2010 Innovator of the Year Award.  VIF will present the 2010 Innovator of the Year Award during the 13th Annual Hampton Roads Technology Night to be held on May 6, 2010 at the Virginia Beach Convention Center.   VIF extends appreciation to the Hampton Roads Technology Council for allowing VIF to partner with HRTC and others during Tech Night.  For more information on Tech Night and HRTC, please visit

And, now for the winners. . .

Second Place Finalists (there was a tie and these are presented in no particular order)

  • Leonard W. Winchester, Jr., PH.D. and Nee-Yin Chou from CW Optics, “Optical Imaging Blood Circulation Velocities” (Seaford, VA)
  • Troy H. Lapetina from The Nathan Group, “Rapid Access Tool-Armored Vehicle Rescue and Breaching Other Ballistically Protected Spaces” (Williamsburg/James City County, VA)

First Place Winner:

  • Christina J. Snyder and Timothy J. Ladison from Aseptic Technologies, LLC, inventing the “Polymer Operating Room Transparent Storage (PORTS)” (Williamsburg/James City County, VA)

For excellence and dedication to supporting inventors, VIF also presented a 2010 Volunteer Achievement Award to:

  • Dick Gibson (Williamsburg/James City County, VA).

VIF congratulates everyone on a job well done and believes that the intellect, talent and drive of each inventor enables growth for businesses in Hampton Roads and throughout Virginia.

For more information about VIF, please visit